RSMA Awards 2019

The RSMA Awards 2019 took place on the 21st November 2019 at the Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport.

The RSMA Awards celebrate the incredible people, projects, innovations, and initiatives of the road marking industry.

This year’s award winners are as follows:

Employee of the Year

Sponsored by

The criteria for this award was to be able to demonstrate how they have excelled in their current position to help drive measurable results for their organisation and/or the wider industry.



Dylan Thompson

of Wilson & Scott (Highways) Ltd

The judges said:

“Dylan was nominated in his role as Health and Safety Manager. Although he has only been with the company a little over a year, the evidence provided indicates that he has made a significant difference during this short time, to the credit of the company as well as to himself.”

Sustainability Project of the Year

Sponsored by


This award was designed for the individuals, organisations, products and projects that have demonstrated a commitment to sustainability. They have made an impact that has delivered measurable change in their organisations/communities/on behalf of clients to protect and enhance the environment, economy and society.

E.g. Reduction of carbon footprint, sustainable material use, waste reduction etc.

Sustainability Project of the Year 2019 – sponsored by LineTrain


WJ Group

for their Development of a Carbon Footprint Model


The judges said:

“WJ has developed an excellent model to evaluate the carbon consumption of the components used in their products. This has enabled the company to review its products and introduce some components with a lesser carbon consumption without detriment to their service life.’’


Wellbeing Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by

Jointline Blue with Strap Line

This award focuses on ensuring effective practice and provision is in place that promotes the emotional wellbeing and mental health of all employees and changing the long-term culture of a business, and embedding an ethos where mental health is regarded as the responsibility of all.

Wellbeing Initiative of the Year 2019 – sponsored by Jointline


Quality Marking Services Ltd – for ‘You Matter, We Care’

WJ Group – for ‘Thinking Wellbeing’

Wilson & Scott (Highways) Ltd – for ‘Road to Wellbeing’


The judges said:

“The matter of general wellbeing but particularly mental health is rightly receiving greater attention and it was encouraging that all three of the shortlisted companies provided a great deal of evidence to demonstrate their commitment to taking this health matter seriously.

“All three entries were worthy of recognition and during the judging process it became apparent that it was impossible to split them. The judging panel therefore recommended the RSMA present the award jointly to all three shortlisted entries.”


Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by

This award was for individuals or teams who have challenged the status quo with new solutions and applied new ways of thinking that positively impact the business. These solutions may be new systems, technologies, products, programs, or policies that tackle process, social, cultural, civic, or health and safety issues.

Innovation of the Year 2019 – sponsored by Geveko Markings


Quality Marking Services Ltd

for Lazerlux: Evidence Based Asset Management


The judges said:

“The Laserlux is a high speed scanning device that measures various road marking attributes at normal road speed. Although some mobile devices have been capable of collecting some road marking performance date in the past the panel considered this Laserlux device to offer sufficient improvement to be awarded this year's Innovation of the Year.”


SAP / Apprentice Certification

Sponsored by

The RMSA and CITB are proud to support the road marking industry in recognising the importance of a highly skilled road-marking workforce.

At this year’s event we celebrated the achievements of 30 learners who have successfully completed the RSMA Apprenticeship Scheme or the Specialist Applied-Skills Programme (SAP) between September 2018 and 2019.

2019 Achievers


Awards Sponsored by

Scroll to Top